LEGHORN COGHILE- REGGAE ICONIC – UNSUNG LEGEND FROM TRENCH TOWN- I, RAS CARDO, STAND AS A WITNESS TO HIS FOUNDATIONAL WORKS WITH BOB MARLEY. I HAVE THE DETAILS OF THE HISTORY. NO OTHER DOES. THE WORLD MUST KNOW THESE TRUTHS. LISTEN! BEFORE THERE WAS A- NEVILLE GARRICK- WALKING AROUND WITH BOB MARLEY, THERE WAS LEGHORN COGHILE AND MYSELF HELPING BOB TO GET HIS FOOTINGS. ANYONE WISHING TO CONTEST ME ON THE TRUTHS I REVEAL CAN DO SO IN OPEN PUBLIC FORUM FOR ALL THE WORLD TO SEE. THEY ARE TRYING TO ERASE AND DISCREDIT THE FOUNDATION PEOPLE OF TRENCH TOWN REGGAE. THEY WILL NEVER PREVAIL. I HAVE THE TRUTH. I CREATED THIS GENRE. I CHANGED A WORD WHICH CHANGED A CULTURE,-(STREGGAE TO REGGAE), AND THE ABUSE UPON OUR WOMEN. I AM RAS CARDO FROM TRENCH TOWN.

 

Excerpt (c)  A REGGAE EDUCATION HISTORY BY RAS CARDO FROM TRENCH TOWN.

WRITTEN WITHOUT PREJUDICE- AND WITH TRUTH.

LET ALL THE WORLD KNOW THESE INCONTROVERTIBLE REGGAE TRUTHS:

LET MY REGGAE TRUTH RECORDS REFLECT, AS I DECLARE THESE TRUTHS.

CAVEAT; EVERYTHING WRITTEN HERE IS TRUE. DO NOT PLAGIARIZE. DO NOT STEAL. DO NOT FABRICATE OR TWIST. DO NOT CALL THIS YOUR OWN. IT IS THE ORIGINAL WORKS OF I, RAS CARDO -REGGAE CREATOR FROM TRENCH TOWN. IT IS UNDER MY SOLE COPYRIGHTS- (c)-  REGGAE EDUCATION.

HOWEVER- YOU MAY SHARE THIS WITH OTHERS.

BEFORE BOB MARLEY CAME INTO TRENCH TOWN WE WERE THERE.

BOB MARLEY TOLD YOU IN SONG THAT-“WE COME FROM TRENCH TOWN,” ONLY AFTER HE BECAME -ONE OF US.

WHEN BOB MARLEY TOLD YOU THAT TRUTH HE WAS NOT LYING, BUT THERE ARE THOSE WHO WOULD WANT TO SAY THAT HE WAS BY TWISTING WORDS TO DECEIVE PEOPLE IN THE HISTORY.

I, RAS CARDO AM HERE TO MAKE CERTAIN THAT THESE REGGAE IMPOSTERS AND VULTURES, DO NOT FABRICATE, AND PREVARICATE OUR RICH REGGAE HISTORY.

IN MY PRECEDENT SETTING BOOK-  (c) 1993- A REGGAE EDUCATION- I TOLD THE WORLD ABOUT SEVERAL PEOPLE INCLUDING- LEGHORN COGHILE .

ON PAGE-52, PARAGRAPH 18- LEGHORN COGHILE AND FAMILY. HE WAS A STUDENT AT ST. GEORGES COLLEGE.HE WAS IN CHARGE OF BOB MARLEY’S FIRST RECORD SHOP ALONG BEESTON STREET IN KINGSTON.HE WAS RESPONSIBLE FOR MUCH OF BOB MARLEY’S SUCCESS IN GETTING THINGS GOING. HE WROTE THE LYRICS TO THE SONG- THEM BELLY FULL-. WE HELPED TO PROTECT BOB.

LEGHORN WAS A MOST CREATIVE AND MULTI-TALENTED PERSON. HE WAS A GENIUS AT MANY THINGS. BOB BENEFITED FROM HIS EXPERTISE. WE ATTENDED THE SAME SCHOOL, AND LIVED IN THE SAME PLACE.

LISTEN!  LONG BEFORE THERE WAS A- NEVILLE GARRICK- AROUND BOB MARLEY THERE WAS- LEGHORN COGHILE.

THOSE WHO CAME AFTER US INHERITED FROM OUR FOUNDATIONAL WORKS WITH BOB. WE SET THE STAGE FOR THEM TO DANCE ON. WHO CAN DENY?

THERE ARE A LOT OF DETAILS IN OUR TRENCH TOWN HISTORY WHICH I HAVE NOT DISCLOSED TO THE WORLD FOR REASONS WHICH SECURE THIS LEGACY. I WILL ALSO SAY THIS:

LEGHORN WAS THE FIRST-PR- PERSON, SPOKES PERSON, GRAPHIC ARTS PERSON, LIASON WITH THE BUSINESS WORLD,THE “GO-TO-” INDIVIDUAL PERSON FOR BOB, AND YES- HE WROTE THE LYRICS TO THE SONG- THEM BELLY FULL.

FOR THOSE WHO MAY ASK- HOW DO I SWEAR BY ALL THIS TRUTH- FOR ME IT IS EASY- I WAS THERE AS  AN ACTIVE PARTICIPANT AND WITNESS TO ALL THIS. THE WORLD WOULD NEVER KNOW THIS HAD I NOT REVEALED IT.

FOR ALL THOSE WHO LOVE TO TALK AND LIE ABOUT WHAT THEY KNOW ABOUT US, I HAVE CHALLENGED THEM OVER THE YEARS, AND TO DATE NONE HAS COME FORWARD AND TRY TO CONTEST ME.

WHEN JUNIOR BRAITHWAITE AND I GAVE THE -WAILING WAILERS- GIFT TO BOB. IT WAS DONE OUT OF LOVE AND TRUST. BOB DID NOT HAVE A NAME FOR HIS GROUP.

THE REGGAE LEGACY WAS NEVER GIVEN AWAY. IT IS SECURE. FORT KNOX COULD NOT BE SAFER.

DID NOT PETER TOSH-ASKED YOU- “WHAT ARE YOU TRYING TO FIND?” SO BECAUSE HE SPOKE THOSE TRUTHS, YOU KILLED HIM.

PETER TOLD YOU TO LEGALIZE MARIJUANA BECAUSE HE KNEW OF ITS MEDICINAL GOOD- BUT YOU KILLED HIM, AND NOW YOU ARE LEGALIZING IT.

OH WICKED BABYLON- IT IS WRITTEN- THEREFORE THIS GENERATION WILL BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR THE BLOOD OF ALL THE PROPHETS THAT HAS BEEN SHED SINCE THE BEGINNING OF THE WORLD.

JUNIOR AND I WERE – THE ORIGINAL WAILING WAILERS. NOTE THE DISTINCTION. THIS HAS NEVER CHANGED. ORIGINAL MEANS EXACTLY WHAT IT SAYS- ORIGINAL.

NOW- FOR ALL THE WORKS THAT LEGHORN HAS DONE SINCE THE BIRTH OF THIS MUSIC, AND THE DECEPTIVE WAYS IN AND BY WHICH THE LEGAL RIGHTS TO HIS SONG WAS TAKEN AWAY FROM HIM IN A SO-CALLED COURT OF LAW-BY LIARS, CORRUPT LAWYERS AND PERJURORS, WHO IS THERE THAT CAN SAY, LEGHORN MUST NOT BE RIGHTLY COMPENSATED FOR HIS WORKS?

BUT IT IS WRITTEN-WOE TO YOU EXPERTS IN THE LAW, YOU LOAD PEOPLE DOWN WITH BURDENS THEY CANNOT CARRY, AND YOU WILL NOT LIFT ONE FINGER TO HELP THEM.

THESE PROPHETS WERE TAKEN AWAY FROM US BECAUSE THEY SPOKE THE TRUTH.

HAD LEGHORN SOUGHT MY HELP DURING THOSE TIMES, I KNOW THE OUTCOMES WOULD HAVE BEEN DIFFERENT. 

WHAT WAS SWEET TO THEIR MOUTHS WILL BECOME BITTER TO THEIR BELLIES. THEY WILL ALL EAT THE BREAD OF SORROW.

I AM HERE TO MAKE SURE THAT THE WORLD GETS  TO KNOW ALL THOSE WHO WERE THE BUILDERS OF THIS TRENCH TOWN REGGAE FOUNDATION.

THE WEAPON I WILL USE IS SIMPLE- THE TRUTH. I WAS THERE. I SPEAK AND WRITE IN THE FIRST PERSON.

YOU DO NOT HAVE TO LIKE WHAT TRUTHS I REVEAL. YOU CAN KEEP YOUR LYING DENIAL SELF TO YOURSELF.

I AM THE ONLY ONE FROM TRENCH TOWN WHO CAN GIVE THE WORLD THESE TRUTHS WITH DETAILED ACCURACY IN THE HISTORY, AUTHENTICITY, VERACITY,ACCOUNTABILITY, AND STAND INCONTROVERTIBLE.

MY CRITICS AND ENEMIES OF REGGAE KNOWS THIS. YOU CANNOT BUY ME OUT. I AM NOT FOR SALE.

FOR ALL THE PROFESSORS IN THE COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES, ALL THE BOOKS ON MUSICOLOGY, ALL THE ENCYCLOPEDIAS, ALL THE HISTORY OF MUSIC AND CULTURES- WHAT I HAVE YOU WILL NOT FIND IN THEIR WORKS UNLESS THEY TOOK IT FROM ME.

BEFORE ANYONE ELSE BEGAN TO WALK AROUND WITH BOB MARLEY IN THE BUILDING OF HIS CAREER, WE WERE THERE, AND LEGHORN WAS ONE OF THE -FOOT SOLDIERS. LEGHORN WAS “THE EVERYTHING MAN” THAT BOB COULD DEPEND ON.

THE UNSUNG PEOPLE OF TRENCH TOWN REGGAE MUST BE KNOWN TO THE WORLD.

FOR THOSE WHO HAVE FOLLOWED AND USED MY BOOKS AND WORKS TO VERIFY AND AUTHENTICATE WHAT I HAVE WRITTEN, IT IS FOR THEM TO TELL THE WORLD THE TRUTHS I HAVE SHARED WITH THEM.

TO NAME A FEW: ROGER STEFFENS HAVE FOUND THOSE HE SOUGHT. AUTHORS- JOHN MASSOURI, CHRIS SALEWICZ, AND OTHERS HAVE FEEL IT NECESSARY TO QUOTE ME.

IT IS MY HOPE THAT THEY SHARE THIS TRUTH WITH THOSE WHOM THEY SEEK.

LEGHORN, LIKE SO MANY WHO DID SO MUCH, FOR THIS MUSIC OUT OF LOVE AND TRUST FOR HIS PEOPLE, I WILL MAKE SURE THAT YOUR NAME WILL NEVER BE FORGOTTEN.

THIS IS WRITTEN OUT OF MUCH LOVE FOR YOU LEGHORN, AND FOR ALL THOSE WHOM I HAVE NOT YET MENTIONED.

ANYONE HAVING A PROBLEM WITH THIS TRUTH SHOULD TAKE A GOOD LOOK AT THEMSELF.

(c) I, RAS CARDO WRITE – A REGGAE EDUCATION- FOR A HEALING OF THE NATION. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED GLOBALLY.

2 thoughts on “LEGHORN COGHILE- REGGAE ICONIC – UNSUNG LEGEND FROM TRENCH TOWN- I, RAS CARDO, STAND AS A WITNESS TO HIS FOUNDATIONAL WORKS WITH BOB MARLEY. I HAVE THE DETAILS OF THE HISTORY. NO OTHER DOES. THE WORLD MUST KNOW THESE TRUTHS. LISTEN! BEFORE THERE WAS A- NEVILLE GARRICK- WALKING AROUND WITH BOB MARLEY, THERE WAS LEGHORN COGHILE AND MYSELF HELPING BOB TO GET HIS FOOTINGS. ANYONE WISHING TO CONTEST ME ON THE TRUTHS I REVEAL CAN DO SO IN OPEN PUBLIC FORUM FOR ALL THE WORLD TO SEE. THEY ARE TRYING TO ERASE AND DISCREDIT THE FOUNDATION PEOPLE OF TRENCH TOWN REGGAE. THEY WILL NEVER PREVAIL. I HAVE THE TRUTH. I CREATED THIS GENRE. I CHANGED A WORD WHICH CHANGED A CULTURE,-(STREGGAE TO REGGAE), AND THE ABUSE UPON OUR WOMEN. I AM RAS CARDO FROM TRENCH TOWN.

  1. TREVOR ROOTS, THE PEACE MAKER

    Bless up Ras , I am Trevor Roots, I attended the Tuff Gong University during the late 70s and early 80s, and was lectured by the great historian, LEGHORN. After the death of the prophet BOB, THE UNIVERSITY , became a bit gloomy and most of the lectures and students went their own ways. I didn’t get any diploma of such, but what i learned I learned will stay with me for the rest of my life. I was a dilligent student, one who cherished every moment . I have great respect for all, LEGHORN , was allways loving and good to me , i looked up to him more than the Band members, trust me .

    Like

    Reply
    1. RAS CARDO REGGAE -ARK OF THE TRENCH TOWN REGGAE COVENANT. -REGGAE HIGHEST AUTHORITY. Post author

      Greetings to the I, Trevor Roots. Your comments read and taken with respect. Well, as I have always said, I will tell the truth about our Trench town reggae history and all the sung and unsung peoples who made it possible for reggae to be what it is today.I have known and been close to Leghorn and others for my entire life. We all lived in the same place, went to the same schools, endured the same hardships. Whatever I have said, and will say is entirely true. I created this reggae genre so that the world will know that- GOOD PEOPLE CAME OUT OF TRENCH TOWN. I AM ONE OF MANY THAT THE WORLD WILL KNOW ABOUT. BOB MARLEY CAME TO LIVE WITH US, AND WE CARED FOR HIM, PROTECTED HIM AND SENT HIM ON WITH OUR MESSAGES. HE SANG-” WE COME FROM TRENCH TOWN”. lEGHORN IS CLOSER THAN A BROTHER TO I AND I. STAY SAFE AND STAND STRONG. Link up anytime you feel free to do so. Jah Bless!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

